Sunday, August 14, 2011

Buy Food for Vegetarians,How to Buy Food for Vegetarians, Vegetarians food

Getting the correct sources of nutrition and sustenance is essential to any diet. It can be a challenge to buy food for vegetarians if you are not familiar with this type of diet. You may end up making them sick due to unfamiliar ingredients being consumed as well as contributing to their social discomfort. Here are a few tips on buying food for a vegetarian. 
  •  Proteins: Sources include, beans, legumes, nuts and grains. Dairy and egg products can also be a good source of protein. Quinoa is a complete protein, meaning it has all 8 amino acids the body needs. Other sources like beans and lentils can be paired with brown rice to make complete protein.
  • Meat Substitutes: Tofu, textured vegetable protein, tempeh, seitan and other soy-based meat substitutes are available and can be used in place of the meat in some common omnivorous recipes. Using the same spices and seasonings used on a meat-based dish is an easy way to mimic the intended flavor of the original dish.
  • Vitamin D: Vitamin D is commonly found in meat and other animal products and often needs to be supplemented in a vegetarian diet. Vitamin D fortified tofu, soy milk and basic cow's milk are all good sources.
  • Calcium: Calcium can be derived from cow's milk and cheese, but if he or she abstains from these--or prefers other sources--there are calcium fortified milk alternatives available. These include rice milk, almond milk and coconut milk. In addition, nuts and seeds such as sesame seeds are high in calcium.
  • Iron: Iron is commonly found in meat and is essential to good health. Sources include potatoes, spinach, tofu, watermelon, pinto beans and cashews. You should consume more vitamin C to increase the absorption of iron. Oranges and other citrus fruits can provide you with adequate amounts.
  • Vitamin B12: This vitamin is essential to healthy brain function and is mainly derived from animal products. Dairy products provide adequate amounts and additional sources include nutritional yeast and fortified milk alternatives.
  • Omega fatty-acids: Vegetarians commonly have lower fat intake than meat eaters, unless cheese and milk are a large portion of their diets. Omega fatty-acids are essential to healthy joints and brain function. Fish are traditional sources of this type of fat, but are not usually included in a vegetarian diet. Flax seeds, flax oil and walnuts can be incorporated into a recipe to provide adequate amounts of omega fatty-acids.
  1. Read the label.
    • It is essential to read the label on processed food when buying food for a vegetarian.
    • Many packaged foods include things like chicken broth and other meat products that might otherwise look entirely vegetarian.
  2. Ask them what they like.
    • It might be best to ask what the person prefers to eat. It is common for vegetarians to be aware of what they should and should not eat.
    • Make sure you are aware of their dietary restrictions. Ask if they eat fish, drink milk or eat eggs.
    • There are many types of vegetarians who do it for health, ethics or both. Be sure to learn as much about the person as you can.
  3. Buy simple ingredients.
    • Simple ideas for breakfast and snacks are bananas, apples, oranges, grapes, avocados, spinach, kale, carrots, crackers, hummus, chips and salsa.
    • These simple foods provide a vegetarian with adequate nutrition and are easy to prepare.

How to Eat Vegetarian At Fast Food Restaurants, Vegetarian Health, eating vegetables

Be prepared to help the servers. If you're aware beforehand of what can be done to turn a normally non-vegetarian food into a vegetarian option, don't be afraid to speak up and describe how this is possible. The server or waiter may take a little convincing but explain clearly, stay polite, and make it easier with your suggestions. One excellent option is to ask for a vegetarian appetizer accompanied by side portions like steamed vegetables or wedges. Asking for a special appetizer doesn't seem like such a huge ask compared to an entree (main meal) size.
  • Don't be afraid to ask the manager or cashier questions. Being a customer, you're entitled to ask what ingredients are in specific foods or if they cook fries in the same oil as meat products. They can also help you find certain foods that are vegetarian-friendly that may not be listed on the menu boards. Inquire about salad toppings, for example hard boiled eggs.
  • Read How to Be Assertive for details on maintaining your position politely but firmly!
Keep your fast food options broad. Fast food isn't only located in the major franchises like McDonald's and Burger King. Diners, take-out places, and fried food outlets are also fast food possibilities, ranging from Chinese to Mexican options. And if it's your local joint and they get to know you well, they'll often be happy to go out of their way to cook up something special whenever you turn up, so make good friends with the owners!
Be aware of what you need to be careful about. Knowing what to avoid when eating fast food is very important. In the realm of fast food, here are some of the things you need to be careful of:
  • Fried foods – what was used to fry the food? If it's beef tallow, chicken fat, or other animal derived fat, then you won't be able to eat it. And this affects everything from fries to donuts.
  • Jelly, Jello, and gelled type foods. Watch out for gelatin in food products, from cheesecake to your milkshake. Some condiments also contain gelatin.
  • Baked goodies. Was the margarine or fat used vegetable-based or animal-derived? Cheap food will often use animal-derived margarine or fat because it keeps down the costs. This impacts a lot of items including pizza bases, pastries, and cakes.
  • Drink bases. If you're not able to consume milk or dairy products and prefer to have soy drinks, bear in mind that some powdered bases and drink mixes may contain dairy products.
  • Where the item is cooked. If the food is cooked on the same grill, in the same wok, or anywhere else where there is meat, then there is a huge risk of cross-contamination. For instance, it can be very hard to keep bits of flesh out of a veggie stir-fry where meat has also been stirred.
  • Bread and buns. These may appear vegetarian but again, they may contain animal fat or by-products. This can be an even bigger issue for vegans, as a lot of bread has milk and sugar added to it (most sugar is not vegan).
  • Meat or fish flavorings in sauces and dressings. A range of condiments may contain fat, oil, flavoring, or even small flesh pieces all derived from animal sources. Avoid salad dressings and other condiments if you're not sure about them.
Take advantage of the "healthier" possibilities on the main menu. Look beyond the commonplace vegetable salads and scoop out other items that might be on offer. Some of the examples you might be able to go with include: 
  • Burger King in the United States offers a BK Veggie Burger that uses Morningstar veggie patties or you can request a regular burger/whopper with no meat (only vegetables, bun, and condiments).
  • Taco Bell Mexican pizza can be ordered without the meat, to be substituted with more beans. They also have a seven layer burrito, which is vegetarian, but has cheese and sour cream.
  • Pasta and breadsticks, along with cheese pizza can leave you with a full stomach. Vegans need to know whether or not the pasta contains egg.
 Choose from the side menu. You don't necessarily need an entire combo meal to satisfy your trip. Find an array of menu items such as corn, mashed potatoes, biscuits, or fruit packages. If you're creative enough, you can probably combine several things together to make a complete vegetarian meal.